Board Of Directors

Governing Board

Third Street Clinic and its mission are guided by a dedicated Board of Directors made up of medical doctors, dentists, pharmacists, nurses, social workers, lawyers and representatives from business, public health and social services. The insight they bring from being actively engaged in their fields helps steer the strategies we use to meet the changing healthcare gaps.


Carenlee Barkdull

Carenlee Barkdull, PhD
Chair UND Social Work Department
Carenlee Barkdull volunteered her time and talents for TSC beginning in 2010. She is active in the Grand Forks community, where she and her husband, Dr. Bret Weber, have lived since 1997. Barkdull is a former president of TSC Board and current member of the Executive Committee.



Judy Swisher, Pharmacy Director
Inspire Pharmacy Owner
There are many words that describe Judy Swisher, and apathetic is not one of them. She has been active with TSC since we were founded in 1989. Her original capacity was serving the organization as a volunteer pharmacist on Tuesday evenings. Over time, however, Swisher became more involved in the formal operations of TSC. She joined the Board of Directors in 2006 and was selected to serve as Secretary in 2010. Although Swisher remains active in several organizations, she is officially retired and lives in Grand Forks with her husband, Wayne.



Kayla Hochstetler, MSW, LCSW
Valley Community Health Centers

Kayla is the Social Services Care Coordinator at Valley Community Health Centers. She got her BSSW and MSW at UND and joined the TSC Board of Directors in February of 2017. Kayla provides Social Work insight into the operations of Third Street Clinic.


David Thompson, Attorney at Law, PC
David Thompson is a passionate and dedicated attorney with his private practice located in downtown Grand Forks. He joined TSC’s Board of Directors in 2010 and has served as volunteer legal counsel for the organization during the same period of time. A New Jersey native, Thompson has lived and practiced law in Grand Forks since 1981. He currently lives and supports the downtown community of Grand Forks with his wife, Lynne.


Sue S

Susan Shirek
Northlands Rescue Mission
Susan is originally from Warren, Minnesota, and she and her husband have lived in the Grand Forks area all of their adults lives. Shirek is retired from the Grand Forks Police Department and is currently the Executive Director of the Northlands Rescue Mission in Grand Forks, North Dakota. She is a past vice president and past president of the board of directors.

Lyn Boese

Lyn Boese, President
Polk County Public Health
Lynette (Lyn) Boese is a public health nurse for Polk County Social Services in Crookston, Minnesota. She joined TSC in early 2012 and has an interest in expanding our partnerships throughout our community. Lyn enjoys visiting national parks and spending time at their cabin with friends. Along with her service to TSC, she is also a volunteer with the Riverside Christian School and Faith Evangelical Free Church.


Colleen Brown, Secretary
Retired Pharmacy Tech
Colleen Brown is a retired pharmacy technician. Brown worked for 16 years in the pharmacy connected with the Grand Forks Family Medicine Residency Center (now affiliated with Altru Health Systems). She has seen firsthand the positive impact TSC has had on this community and is very excited to expand this impact through increasing effective use of medical services and the new social enterprise, Inspire Pharmacy.


Tim C

Tim Carlson, RPh
Thrifty White Pharmacy



Nate Espinoza, BSSW 
Freedom Church

Nate is the Compassion Coordinator at Freedom Church, where he administers the church’s benevolence services for people in the Grand Forks community who may have unmet basic needs. Nate studied Social Work at UND, receiving a BSSW (as of 8/3/18, hopefully).  Nate has a heart to reach and serve hurting people and see their lives transformed through developing a personal relationship with Jesus.

Third Street Clinic is proud to partner with: