Grand Forks Nonprofit Business Alliance Receives Partnership Building Award

June 12, 2016

The North Dakota Association of Nonprofit Organizations (NDANO) presented its 2016 Walt Odegaard Leadership Award, Partnership Building Award and Emerging Leader Award on June 1 during the Nonprofit Leadership Conference in Bismarck.

The Walt Odegaard Leadership Award is given to an individual who has made a difference by strengthening North Dakota and its nonprofit sector through his or her long-term commitment to leadership, volunteerism and philanthropy. Individuals with more than 15 years of leadership experience are eligible for this award. The 2016 recipients are Kevin J. Dvorak, president and CEO of the North Dakota Community Foundation, and Sandra Marshall, CEO of Development Homes Inc.

The Partnership Building Award is presented to an organization that has demonstrated community leadership and built partnerships within the North Dakota nonprofit sector. Nonprofits, for-profit businesses, government agencies and educational institutions are eligible for this award. The 2016 Partnership Building Award winner is the Nonprofit Business Alliance in Grand Forks.

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant impact in strengthening the North Dakota nonprofit sector in a short amount of time through his or her commitment to leadership, volunteerism and/or philanthropy. Individuals with 15 years or less of leadership experience are eligible for this award. The 2016 Emerging Leader Award winner is Jessica Thomasson, CEO of Lutheran Social Services of North Dakota.

“NDANO is pleased to recognize excellence in the nonprofit sector through its annual awards,” says NDANO President Tim Eissinger. “This year’s award recipients are to be commended for their commitment to enhancing the quality of life throughout North Dakota.”